Our Board

Home / The Commission / Our Board

The Board sets the strategic direction of the Commission which is aligned with the needs of community and business.  Membership comprises the CEO and six regional representatives who are appointed by the Minister for Regional Development.

The Board meets 5 times per year in various locations throughout the Peel region. Any person or group wishing to make a presentation to the Board should telephone the Commission and ask for the Executive Officer.

If you wish to contact any of the Commission’s Board members, telephone the Commission on (08) 9535 4140 and ask for the Executive Officer.

Board member positions are advertised in the newspaper and on the Board Vacancies section of this website.


Paddi Creevey

Ms Patricia (Paddi) Creevey OAM

Community Representative

Ms Creevey (Paddi) is a resident of Dawesville and was a Councillor for the City of Mandurah from 1994 until being elected Mayor in 2005, an office she held until her retirement in 2014. During her long period of service to Local Government Paddi served on a number of Boards and Committees including the Peel Region Scheme Planning Committee, the Makers, RDA Peel, Coasts and Climate Change Council, Local Government Advisory Board, Ministerial Working Group for Greater Participation of Women in Local Government, Peel Inlet Management Council and Peel-Harvey Catchment Council. She currently sits on the Board of West Aus Crisis and Welfare and in 2019 was appointed to the Western Australian Planning Commission in the position of nominee of the Regional Minister.

Paddi has been awarded the Centenary Medal, the Order of Australia Medal in the General Division of the Queen’s Birthday 2010 Honours List and was inducted into the inaugural WA Women’s Hall of Fame in 2011.

Alan Cransberg

Alan Cransberg

Deputy Chair
Ministerial Representative

Alan Cransberg was appointed Deputy Chair of the PDC in June 2019. Mr Cransberg brings to the role extensive corporate experience most notably as former Chairman and Managing Director of Alcoa Australia and President Alcoa Global Refining. He also brings a depth of experience from having led, reported to and been a part of numerous boards throughout his career including his current appointments of Chair Wirrapanda Foundation and Corporation, Director John Swire and Sons Pty Ltd, Director UWA Business School, Director SAS Resources Trust, Director Stealth Global Industries and Director Ace Mining Solutions. Mr Cransberg’s professional experience has seen him achieve impressive results and outcomes for the organisations he has led and been involved in. His ability to rapidly identify and understand key commercial, strategic and risk issues, devise action plans to deliver key outcomes and influence stakeholders with strong communication skills, will be highly regarded in delivering the Commission’s objectives for a progressive, prosperous and dynamic region with a culture of care. Mr Cransberg is a proud West Australian and lives in Mandurah.

david doepel

David Doepel

Ministerial Representative

David Doepel is already well known in the Peel region through his work with Murdoch University and the Future Food CRC with over 30 years of experience on innovation in industry, academia and government. He is chair and managing director of Demand Film and in almost two decades since he has served as a trade commissioner for WA in the Americas, he also served as a policy advisor and speechwriter to a Premier of WA and held a variety of academic positions including deputy vice-chancellor of research at Murdoch University. He continues to advise the University on various strategic research initiatives and is also very active chairing a research group at Murdoch University with an emphasis on blockchain technologies.

Cr Michelle Rich

Cr Michelle Rich

Local Government Representative

Cr Michelle Rich was recently successful in being re-elected for another 4 year term as Councillor with the Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale and was also re-elected as their Shire President for a 2 year term. With a background in successful small business, Cr Rich brings a solid understanding of new business and environmental issues. She is passionate about promoting the Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale and the overall Peel region as a tourism destination whilst encouraging economically sustainable, environmentally sound developments that protect the character, lifestyle and rural history of the area.  Cr Rich currently represents Council on the CEO Employment Committee and Audit, Risk and Governance Committee and she is the Peel Zone representative on the State Council of WALGA. She was also recently appointed as a local government representative to one of the Planning reform committees.

mayor rhys williams

Mayor Rhys Williams

Local Government Representative

Rhys Williams is Mayor of Mandurah and the 2015 Young West Australian of the Year. As the former CEO and Founder of The Makers, a non-profit social enterprise in Mandurah, he worked with the team to establish Make Place, a co-working and innovation hub. In 2009, Rhys was one of the youngest people in Western Australia elected to a Local Government Council. He is an ambassador to the One Young World Leaders Summit, and is Chairman of the Mandurah Performing Arts Centre and John Tonkin College.

Michelle Sidebottom

Michelle Sidebottom

Community Representative

Michelle Sidebottom’s professional experience has seen her design, develop and implement local to major State-wide business and workforce developmental projects with the private sector, peak industry associations and local, State and Federal government agencies. She is the Managing Director of Breakaway Tourism Pty Ltd, a project management, facility management, and consultancy company specialising in the areas of tourism, hospitality, events, recreation, accommodation solutions, training, and workforce development. Michelle has lived and worked extensively across Australia, Japan and Malaysia and is a former judge for the Australian and Western Australian Tourism Awards. She is also currently a Board Member of Visit Mandurah (tourism association), Chair of judges for the Clubs Western Australia Awards for Excellence, and Industry Advisor for the Western Australian Indigenous Tourism Operators Council.